Northern Kentucky Sports Home
scores | standings | webcasts | photos | forums | links
NKY Youth Football Hall of Fame Inductees
7/29/2010 - by NKS Editor
The Northern Ky Youth Football League (NKYFL) will be inducting its 3rd class into its Hall of Fame on July 30, 2010. The reception begins at 6:00 pm with dinner to follow at 7:00 pm at the Edgewood Senior Center.

This is the NKYFL's 53rd year teaching youth football and cheerleading in NKY. Some of the past inductees include Mark Pike, Jared Lorenzen, Doug Pelphry, Brandon Berger, Eddie Eviston, Scott Wiggins, Jeff Brady and Mike Webster.

This years class includes:

Marty Moore
Marty is a former NFL player who played linebacker for eight seasons for the New England Patriots and Cleveland Browns. Moore also holds the distinction of being the first Mr. Irrelevant ever to play in a Super Bowl (Super Bowl XXXI). Moore played high school football for Highlands and college football at Kentucky, playing in the 1993 Peach Bowl and becoming the final pick in the 1994 NFL Draft after his senior season.

Marty played for the Newport Fire Fighters.

Tim Odom
Odom was both a head coach at Simon Kenton (1990-1995) and an assistant coach at his high school alma mater, Moeller. In 1993 he coached Simon Kenton to their first appearance in the Kentucky Class AAA playoffs guiding the Pioneers to the second round.

While a student at Moeller, Odom earned All-Ohio and All-American honors as a guard and helped the Crusaders to back-to-back state championships in 1980 and 1981.

Odom was recruited to play for Ohio State where he was converted to a center. He went on to play for the Buckeyes' 1984 Big Ten Championship team. A chronic knee injury force him to miss the entire 1985 season and eventually give up football as a player.

Tim was a Ft. Mitchell Spartan and Founder of South Kenton Youth Football.

Bob Odom
Bob was 28 years (1978-2005) at Moeller high school where he helped coach five state championship and three national championship teams.

Over his career Odom has coached 31 offensive linemen who have gone on to play at D-1 colleges. Included in this number have been his son (Tim, Moeller 1982, Ohio State) and his grandson (Jake, Lakota West 2009, Eastern Illinois).

In his high school days Odom played on the 1959 Kentucky AA State Championship team from Henderson.
Bob was a coach for the Ft. Mitchell Spartans.

PJ Doyen
PJ played football for the Dayton Road Runners and has officiated in the NKYFL for many years. He is currently a Head Referee in the Ohio Valley Conference.

1958 Erlanger Lions Team
This team won the Pop Warner National championship. Coached by one of the founders of our league Harlan Strong. Twenty members of this team will be attending this event, Including there wives and children.

Pfc. Russell E. Madden
Russell was a member of the Bellevue Tigers for 8 years and a coach for 4 years.
According to the Department of Defense, Pfc. Russell E. Madden, 29, of Dayton, Ky., died June 23 at Charkh district, Konar province, Afghanistan, of wounds suffered when insurgents attacked his vehicle with rocket fire. Madden had volunteered to be gunner in the lead vehicle of a convoy escort detail. He was assigned to the 1st Squadron, 91st Cavalry Regiment, 173rd Airborne Brigade Combat Team, Conn Barracks, Germany.

Pfc. Madden graduated from Bellevue High School in 2000, where he was an exceptional athlete; lettering in track and football. During the 1999 football season, when Bellevue was undefeated, he played linebacker and running back positions. Married and the father of two boys—one of whom has Cystic Fibrosis—he was in his first deployment to Afghanistan. In addition to his wife and sons, Madden leaves his parents and two siblings.

Jordan Logan
Jordan, a high school teacher and football coach died Friday evening of an apparent heart attack. Jordan Logan, 22, a substitute teacher and defensive coordinator at Ludlow High School, had worked out with the football team earlier in the day.

Jordan played and coached for the Ludlow Panthers Youth Football team.

Other Inductees
Bill Blassingame
Kim Steffen
Mark Steffen
Greg Hall
Don Long
Bill Vogt

The Hall of Fame ceremony helps support our NKYFL Scholarship Fund. The NKYFL has given over $15,000 in scholarships the last 3 years to 16 high school seniors.

2010 Scholarship winners
Miles Simpson
Ricky Buckler
Kevin Connaughten
Courtney Turner
Austin Johnson.

The 2010 NKYFL Player of the Year, Person of the Year, and a Lifetime Achievement award will also be announced at the ceremony.
 Tuesday, Apr 23 
53,277 Games AND counting
in our database
Teams  Broadcasts  Articles  Photos  Advertise  Links  Contact Us
The use of this Web site is governed by the site’s Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.
Copyright © 2024 Weblement, LLC. All rights reserved.